• English
  • Italiano





The Reggiano (formerly Lambrusco Reggiano) DOC was created in 1970, but has been reviesed on more than ten occasions since.

One of the latter revisions expanded the DOC to cover not just sparkling red Lambrusco wines but also dry red wines made predominantly from the Ancellotta grape and sparkling white wines. One of the five Lambrusco regions, this is the largest and is responsible for an impressive quantity of the sparkling wines exported every year, mostly to the US and northern Europe. Classic Lambrusco is made form a mixture of the various Lambrusco grape varieties, and is made from off-dry to semi-sweet.

DOC Laws allow Lambrusco Marani, Lambrusco Salamino, Lambrusco Montericco, Lambrusco Maestri, Lambrusco di Sorbara, Lambrusco Grasparossa, Lambrusco Viadana, Lambrusco Oliva, Lambrusco Barghi, jointly or separately, min. 85%; for the remainder may be included alone or jointly, the grapes from vineyards ancellotta, malbo kind, Lambrusco leafy jagged, Fogarina.

Areas where Lambrusco Reggiano is produced

Built along the Via Emilia of Roman origin and linking, then as now, the city of Milan to the city of Rimini, Reggio Emilia can boast of the title of City of the Tricolour , as the Italian flag, the inspiration of the banners of Cispadana Republic, was born and was exhibited for the first time in this city January 7, 1797 .​